12 April 2012

Various Veggies

Posted in CSA, food at 1:10 pm by Tricia

We’re in week 4 of the spring season at Capella Farm. I should be organized like my friend L and post my menu plans for what is in the box. Unfortunately, I tend to be spur of the moment when it comes to dinner. Here are some of the things I’ve prepared in the past three weeks:

Spring regulars – recipes I’ve posted before:

New this year (links go to recipes at other web sites):

  • grated parsnip apple salad with meyer lemon dressing
    • This appears in From Asparagus to Zucchini, p 113 – link above goes to an online version of it. I decided to make it since it was completely different from roasting or braising the parsnips. Bonus – I got to use another one of those meyer lemons left over from Pi(e) Day! The spousal unit really liked this – I thought the parsnip added an interesting taste, although it might be good to add a bit more dressing.
  • stir-fried carrots and ginger with mustard seeds
    • Another great dish from World Vegetarian.  This is quite spicy – you’ll want something bland to eat with it (rice, bread, or maybe top it with a few spoonfuls of plain yogurt). I put a few spoonfuls of it in my salad for the next day’s lunch. The rest of the leftovers went into a flour tortilla with sauteed greens on Taco Tuesday.
  • stir-fried bok choy with cashew sauce (From Asparagus to Zucchini, page 31)
    • After I made this recipe, I realized it’s not that different from cooking greens then dousing them with a peanut sauce – and I even had a jar of peanut sauce in the fridge. But actually, this does taste different. I had a large head of bok choy but the amount of sauce in the recipe was too much – I kept about half in the fridge and will use it on other cooked greens. Or maybe I’ll be inspired by this post at Arctic Garden Studio and do a stir-fry with tofu and more choi.
  • assorted sauteed greens recipes
    • We have a near-weekly dinner tradition of Taco Tuesday. I like to change mine up a bit (at least 3 of the other 4 in my family would be fine eating the same thing each week), so I sauteed rapini with garlic and cumin, then added some (Trader Joe’s tomatillo and roasted chile) salsa at the end of the cooking. I put this in a flour tortilla with leftover spicy carrots (see above) and yum! wonderful twist on Taco Tuesday!
2 Comments »

  1. Tammy said,

    It’s odd how there are some vegetables that have me scrambling to figure out how to use – turnips, for one. Then, on the flip, there are those of which I will never tire – kale. Your sesame kale salad is the reason.

  2. Tricia said,

    Glad you like it, Tammy! That’s my go-to kale recipe (although my kids now like kale chips, so I’ll make those sometimes too).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

