27 May 2007

Be-bop a re-bop… rhubarb crunch!

Posted in food at 4:47 pm by Tricia

I’ve made this enough times now to consider it a specialty. I originally got the recipe from the epicurean website, but I re-arranged and reformatted to make it more in keeping with my preparation (the first time I made it last year, I overlooked the syrup step which added time; the second time I forgot to put half the ‘crunch’ in the bottom of the pan).

Rhubarb Crunch

Ingredients:

Part 1
1 cup sugar
1 cup water
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 tablespoon vanilla

Part 2
1 cup flour
3/4 to 1 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup oatmeal
1/2 cup butter

Part 3
4 cups sliced rhubarb

Directions:
Combine ingredients from part 1 and cook on medium heat until clear. Meanwhile, combine ingredients from part 2 and mix until creamy.
Spread half on bottom of a 9×9 or 8×12 pan.

Place rhubarb (part 3) on top of batter.
Pour syrup (part 1) over rhubarb and sprinkle remaining batter on top.
Cook in preheated oven at 375F for 1 hour.
Serve hot, with a small scoop of ice cream.

4 Comments »

  1. Deb said,

    Oh. I. Am. In. Love.
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE L-O-V-E rhubarb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    sigh…

    d

  2. jonskifarms said,

    Hey Deb, maybe you should try the Lentils Curried with Sweet Potato and Rhubarb –
    https://jonskifarms.wordpress.com/2006/06/02/lentils-curried-with-sweet-potato-and-rhubarb/

    :^)

  3. Michele T said,

    I haven’t had rhubarb in many years. I remember as a kid my grandmother used to grow it in her garden. We mostly made it with strawberries, which as an adult I developed an allergy to. Probably why I haven’t paid much attention to rhubarb since I tend to associate it with strawberries, but obviously there are lots of other ways to make it. Here’s a link to a whole bunch of rhubarb recipes on recipezaar.com

    http://www.recipezaar.com/sitenews/post?pid=800

  4. jonskifarms said,

    Michele, I’ve read that people use strawberries to counteract the tartness of the rhubarb. (I’ve also read commentaries from people who think that “ruins” the flavor of the rhubarb.) But you’re right, there are lots of ways to cook rhubarb without strawberries (such as lentils curried with sweet potatoes and rhubarb :^). I’ve been meaning to try a few other savory recipes, but haven’t had enough time in the kitchen lately. Anyway, if you get any rhubarb next year, try this crisp. It’s yummy!


Leave a Reply

