31 July 2007

Cherry Nut Crumble

Posted in food at 10:40 pm by Tricia

Market Fresh iconHow can a cherry crumble when it’s so juicy? Never mind that, here’s another recipe I tried with tart cherries from the Farmer’s Market!

Side note: this cute “Fresh from the Farmer’s Market” blushing tomato icon was commissioned by Alanna at A Veggie Venture. I’ve been meaning to use it for months, to identify my posts that use produce obtained at our local farmer’s market. Better late than never!

Cherry Nut Crumble

Fruit filling inspired by the cherry ‘cobbler’ over at Kitchen Chick:

2 cups pitted tart cherries (after pitting a quart, I had just over 2 cups of fruit)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 Tab cornstarch
2 tsp balsamic vinegar

Mix together in bowl. (I mixed them in the bowl I was intending to use for baking.)

Crumble topping inspired by Moosewood Restaurant Book of Desserts (Cherry Almond Crumble, p 31):

1/2 cup pecans
1/2 cup unbleached white flour
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup butter
1/2 tsp pure almond extract

Coarsely chop the pecans in the bowl of a food processor. Add the flour, brown sugar, butter, and almond extract and process until crumbly and well combined. Sprinkle the topping evenly over the cherries and bake until the fruit is bubbly and the topping golden, about 35 to 45 minutes.

Serve warm or cold. Top with vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt, if desired.

Their recipe uses almonds instead of pecans – “cherries and almonds go together like hugs and kisses.” But (a) I have pounds and pounds of shelled nuts from my dads backyard pecan trees, plus (b) almonds often don’t agree with my digestion, so I used pecans instead.

The dessert was deemed delicious by all (2 of us) who tried it. Jonski Papa thought it tasted like a really good cherry pie with a different kind of “crust” so he was quite content with it (cherry pie is his favorite pie). I liked it a lot but felt like it still wasn’t tart enough – maybe my expectations are just off in terms of what ‘tart’ cherries should taste like! After all, this is dessert, not an astringent cleaner. I mixed some of the cherry juice drippings (from the pitting process) with fizzy water – no added sweetener – and even that was reasonably sweet. Maybe my taste buds are anticipating “sour like citrus” instead of tart? I dunno. Like I said, this was really good, and pretty simple (once the cherries are pitted!), so don’t take this comment as a complaint!

1 Comment »

  1. Tricia said,

    I made this again, July 2009, closer to 3 cups of cherries and 1 cup of sugar. Z-boy tried and liked it, although he wants more crumble topping. Also, he and I disagree about the sweetness – I want it more tart and he said it wasn’t sweet enough. “But I’m a kid, and kids like sweet things” he said. (I like sweet things, too, but i want my fruit desserts to taste more natural and less sweetened.)


Leave a Reply

