29 August 2007

Sesame Kale Salad

Posted in food at 7:23 pm by Tricia

Market Fresh iconWe get lots of kale from our farm share. I’ve tried dealing with it various ways over the years – for example, freezing it to use in winter soups. But even so, I usually fall behind. Kale just isn’t a “go to” vegetable in my brain, especially not in the summer. But I tried this recipe tonight, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Maybe kale will be easier to use up now that I have a “favorite” recipe for it! I imagine this would be good with Asian foods, and good to take in for lunch.

Local ingredients: kale (a mixture of lacinato and green curly), garlic, honey.

Sesame Kale Salad

1 pound fresh kale (or chard, spinach, or other greens)
2 Tab soy sauce
2 Tab toasted sesame oil
1 Tab toasted sesame seeds
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tsp honey (or other sweetener)
1 Tab apple cider vinegar
dash of black or ground red pepper, or more to taste

Separate kale leaves from stems. Chop stems and greens. Steam stems a couple of minutes, then add the greens and steam until just tender. Drain; let kale cool enough to handle it. Squeeze out as much water as possible. Place in serving bowl. Mix the remaining ingredients in another bowl; add to greens. Mix, chill, and serve. Makes 4-6 servings.

(I skipped the “chill” step, because it was dinnertime!) Recipe found on p 96 in From Asparagus to Zucchini, which says that it is “Adapted from Extending the Table: A World Community Cookbook, by Joetta Hendrich Schlabach.”

11 Comments »

  1. You could also try making kale chips…

    Ingredients:
    1-2 bunches of kale
    Olive oil

    Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Remove kale from stalk, leaving the greens in large pieces. Place a little olive oil in a bowl, dip your fingers and rub a very light coat of oil over the kale. Lay out on a baking sheet and bake for 5 minutes or until it starts to turn a bit brown. Keep an eye on the kale, it can burn quickly. Turn the kale over and bake with the other side up. Remove and serve.

  2. jonskifarms said,

    Hey deliciouslife, thanks for stopping by. I’ve made kale chips before, but they’re not a big hit at my house. I don’t even like them very much! I made some almost exactly a year ago – and they’re still in the pantry. I’m kind of afraid to open the container! They were okay, but I couldn’t figure out when I would really want to eat them.

  3. Cindy D. said,

    The only time I’ve had kale was when my grandmother would make it. She would steam it and then serve it with melted butter and lemon juice drizzled over it.

  4. jonskifarms said,

    Cindy, I don’t think I’d ever had kale in a house (maybe in a restaurant) until I started getting my farm share in 2000! The only “greens” (other than salad) that I ever ate growing up was spinach from a can (ick!).

  5. Ruth said,

    Sounds yummy!

  6. susan e said,

    I’m pretty sure I’ve never eaten kale in my entire life.

  7. jonskifarms said,

    hey susan, it’s never too late to start! plus it’s low cal and high in fiber. it is kind of ‘dark’ tasting, though, moreso than spinach or chard.

    here’s some nutrition info: http://home.howstuffworks.com/kale3.htm

  8. jonskifarms said,

    I made this again tonight for an Asian dinner, and yes indeed, it does go well with Asian foods (no big surprise, given the soy sauce and toasted sesame oil!).

  9. Sarah said,

    LOVED this recipe though I changed it a bit. I made it into a meal by cooking rice for the starch. I also sauteed some tofu after marinating it is the sauce (which I had doubled). I then tossed the tofu with the WARM kale, along with more sauce and served it over rice. I used walnut oil instead of sesame oil simply b/c I didn’t have any sesame oil. Splendid!

    • Tricia said,

      That does sound tasty – glad you were able to make it fit your needs! I have some kale in the fridge, so I should give it a try myself :^)

  10. […] Sesame kale salads.  Here are two to choose from.  Option 1. Options 2. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in […]


Leave a Reply

