5 February 2008

If you like wheat thins…

Posted in food at 10:29 pm by Tricia

If you like wheat thins ™, you’ll probably like these crackers. Z-boy and Jonski Papa enjoyed them, as did a next door neighbor boy. They were sweeter than I had hoped for – I guess I was aiming for the wheat weaver taste rather than wheat thins. But anyway, I’ll probably make them again some time, with a little tinkering.
Original recipe on the Wyoming Cowgirl web site.

WHOLE WHEAT CRACKERS
350-degree oven
makes about 60

3 cups whole wheat flour
2 cups rolled oats
1-1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 cup shortening
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup honey or sugar
About 1-1/2 cups milk

Stir together flour, oats, and salt; set aside.
Beat the shortening, butter and honey/sugar until golden and fluffy.
Stir in flour concoction, alternating with the milk. [I did not quite use the full amount of milk] Your dough still will be soft and fairly sticky, but go on ahead and turn it onto a floured countertop and knead lightly.

Divide in fourths and refrigerate (or not) for a spell (chilled dough just works easier). [I did not]

Roll out each piece to 1/8-inch thick and cut into 1-3-inch round crackers. Poke all over with a fork, slap onto an ungreased cookie sheet, and bake in a 350-degree oven for about 20-25 minutes (or until golden brown).

Notes: I searched the cupboards high and low looking for honey, and turned out a tiny little glass jar that came in some high-end gift basket, plus two honey packets from a fast food joint (real honey, not the fake stuff they serve at KFC). So I had to use sugar for about half the sweetener.

I made a half batch, since I wasn’t sure if we would like them. I used a small biscuit cutter to cut out the crackers (about 2 1/2″ diameter), and ended up with about 4 dozen crackers. They were kind of tough (due to the sugar? too much handling of the dough?) so I might knead them less vigorously next time, and cook a shorter amount of time (wyoming cowgirl said “just a smidgen less” so I stopped at 20 minutes, but perhaps she cooks even less than what she recommends in her recipe). Square crackers would be even quicker to prepare, and would require less dough-handling, so that might be something else to try.

[Aside to the other TJ in town who sometimes reads my blog: I often find myself spontaneous reciting your cracker poem that was published in Babybug. Like just now, as I typed square crackers. Will I recite it to my grandchildren some day? I wouldn’t be surprised!]

4 Comments »

  1. the other TJ said,

    Do you know I never, until you mentioned it now, thought about us having the same initials? Kind of blew my mind there for a minute. (Of course, it doesn’t take much to make my head spin lately…)

    I’m flattered you recite my poem! That is really so cool. I have been neglecting my writing for months and months now, but it’s in a corner of my mind, simmering, waiting its turn.

    I will have to try this recipe. My kids would think it was fun to make crackers at home. Thanks for sharing.

  2. jonskifarms said,

    You could make square crackers, and round crackers, and see if they’re able to recite and/or act out the poem! :^)

    By the way, somewhere I have a recipe for cheesey crackers – I think they’re good, but last time I made them (when Z was in K), none of the munchkins liked them. I should try again.

  3. Floridamom said,

    Sounds good; I might try them once I can put weight on my foot again. Are they very sweet? Sometimes Wheat Thins are a little too sweet for me, but maybe I could play with the amount of honey in the recipe.
    K

  4. jonskifarms said,

    Hey Floridamom, I did notice the sweetness at first, but it wasn’t too overwhelming. And it didn’t bother me as much with subsequent crackers. I was expecting them to taste more like woven wheat crackers (e.g. Triscuits), which aren’t sweet at all, so my reaction might have been partially due to my expectations! And I suspect that you could reduce the sweetness to your own taste – because of the milk, you don’t really need the honey for its liquid properties. You could control the workability of the dough through the milk. That’s my guess, at least!


Leave a Reply

