14 September 2008

Honeydew Sorbet

Posted in food at 8:54 pm by Tricia

So, imagine you get a honeydew melon at your farmer’s market, and you wait a bit too long to cut it, then you find out it’s very sweet but a bit too mushy for your melon-loving kids to eat. What should you do? Make sorbet!

I used the ingredients from this recipe, although I didn’t bother straining the lime zest from the mixture. It’s very quick, because there’s no pesky simple-syrup making (and cooling!) step to slow down the process. It came out great! There are also numerous mint honeydew sorbet recipes, but I didn’t have any fresh mint on hand. Maybe next time.

2 Comments »

  1. floridamom said,

    Hmm. I wonder if this would work with watermelon you waited too long to eat. I suppose it can’t hurt to try. The alternative is the compost bin.

  2. Tricia said,

    Sure, give it a try! I’ve had frozen pureed watermelon before (not even officially sorbet).

    That reminds me, I need to go slice a melon for T to take for snack tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

