1 November 2008

If you make the same mistake twice…

Posted in food at 9:23 pm by Tricia

If you make the same mistake twice, call it a recipe innovation!

A few weeks ago, I made banana chocolate chip muffins. As I put them in the oven, I realized that I’d never put the sugar in (we didn’t have enough brown sugar and I was trying to decide what else to substitute, and ended up not using anything). They came out fine – nobody said a thing about them being different. I figured that between the super-ripe bananas and the chocolate chips, there must be enough sweetness.

Fast forward to November 1st and what happens? I do it again! I got the brown sugar out, but never actually opened the jar or put any in the mixing bowl. And the muffins were fine. I know that baking is a science and some subtle chemistry is out of whack without this ingredient, but if they get eaten without complaint, who am I to mess with success?

Without further ado, here’s my recipe:

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins
adapted from Betty Crocker

1 egg
1 cup mashed banana (2 to 3 medium bananas)
1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil – OR – 1/4 cup oil + 1/4 cup applesauce
3/4 cup white flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup wheat germ
1/3 cup brown sugar (skip it! nobody will notice if you leave it out!)
1 Tab baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/4 to 1/3 cup chocolate chips (mini work best, but standard will do!)

Heat oven to 400° F. Prepare 12 muffin cups. Beat egg, stir in milk, oil, and banana. Stir in remaining ingredients all at once just until flour is moistened (batter will be lumpy). Fill muffin cups about 3/4 cup full. Bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes.

Note: You can change ratio of wheat germ + wheat flour + white flour, but total should be 2 cups. This recipe easily doubles, and these freeze well.

4 Comments »

  1. susan said,

    Ohhh…I have some wheat germ to get rid of! I have made whole wheat banana chocolate chip muffins twice now (from the King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking book) to accolades from my coworkers. Next time I will try yours!

  2. Tricia said,

    You might as well give it a try! How much sugar is in the KA recipe? My MIL always talks about how muffins are “unhealthy” and I look at this recipe and scratch my head. Sure, a plain banana dipped in wheat germ would be healthier, but it’s not THAT bad!

  3. Michele T said,

    Well because a lot of muffins you buy are 4 times the size of normal muffins and have tons of oil and sugar in them (and usually don’t have all those healthy whole grains & fiber like your recipe). This recipe looks good, I’ll have to try it for Z. next time.

    I forgot the sugar in a whole wheat raspberry scone recipe recently and it also was just fine without it. Not sweet though, but good (and luckily the fresh raspberries weren’t too tart).

  4. Tricia said,

    I grant you that, Michele, but she wasn’t talking about store-bought muffins. She was talking about home made ones (and her recipe isn’t THAT different from ours!).


Leave a Reply

