26 November 2008

Make Something Day

Posted in events at 4:14 pm by Tricia

Not being much of one for crowds or forced hoopla (read as: waiting in the cold and dark to line up for 6 AM Door Buster deals, or similar nonsense), I can see the appeal of Buy Nothing Day. But let’s face it, the name is kind of negative and a tiny bit self-important. It’s not like I’ve signed up for that “buy nothing new for a year” compact by staying away from stores this Friday.

I mused on that this morning, as I was walking to work. Soon, I combined the idea of Buy Nothing Day with a nod to The Handmade Pledge (not realizing it was buy handmade), and came up with “Make Something Day.” That’s what I should do: dedicate some time on Friday to making gifts!

But before I could make any grand claims about my great idea, I thought I should sit down with my friendly neighborhood search engine. What was the first thing I found? This web site. With this underlying rationale. Great minds think alike!

So I challenge you to spend some time on Friday making something. Or at least spend some time poking around at the official Make Something web site looking for ideas.

3 Comments »

  1. Deb said,

    Hmmm..
    I think I will def go for the “buy nothing maize and blue” day. BTW – had a great time in Columbus on Nov. 22nd. 🙂

    Deb

  2. Tricia said,

    How could you have a great time when your team was playing such a lousy opponent? Isn’t challenge more interesting? :^)

    [btw, i think i predicted this outcome, back in September! Not like it took much prescience to do that, though…]

  3. Pattie said,

    Thankyou for commenting on my Blog ! had great fun browsing yours,mmmmm lovely
    Hugs Pattie


Leave a Reply

