8 December 2009

Fruits and Veg

Posted in food at 11:14 pm by Tricia

Here are two dishes that combine dried fruits with veggies, and use up common ingredients from my CSA share: kale with garlic and cranberries, persian-style carrots with apricots.

We gets lots and lots of kale in our share – and I’m not that great about using it up. I blanch and freeze some to use in soups, but I’ve been trying to find other uses. Around Thanksgiving (either linked from NPR or from Splendid Table) I found this recipe at Gourmet magazine, for Kale with Garlic and Cranberries. I’ve made it twice now,  with two different kinds of kale (lacinato and curly). I liked it better with the lacinato – the curly had a less appealing mouth feel – maybe from the texture, or maybe I used less olive oil that time. To make it more of a Michigan dish (and to use what I had on hand!), i substituted dried cherries for the dried cranberries. Dried cherries tend to be sweeter, softer, and less waxy than dried cranberries (in my experience) so cranberries might make this more tart.

We also get lots of carrots in our share. I primarily use them in soups, but quite some time ago I’d marked a recipe in (wait for it…) Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian. I finally got around to trying it this fall, and really enjoyed it – so I made it again! The original recipe calls for apricots, but I didn’t have any on hand, so I used dried peaches instead. Here is my rendition:

Persian Style Carrots with Dried Peaches

1 Tab olive oil + 1 tab butter
1 smallish onion (3 oz), peeled, halved lengthwise, and then cut crosswise into 1/8 inch thick half rings
4 med carrots (10 oz), peeled and cut crosswise but at a slight diagonal into 1/4-inch-thick oval slices
6 dried peaches, cut into halves (or smaller)
1 Tab sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup plus 2 Tab vegetable stock

Put the oil + butter in frying pan over med-high heat. When hot, put in onion, carrots, and dried fruit. Stir and sauté for about 5 minutes, or until all the ingredients just start to brown. Put in the sugar and salt and stir for 10 seconds. Put in the stock and bring to a boil. Cover and cook on med-high heat for about 4 minutes, or until the liquid is absorbed and the carrots are tender.

The cookbook claims this serves 4, but it’s been more like 3 servings for us (that is, both adults eat a serving at dinner, and there’s a serving left over for someone’s lunch!).

My husband suggested one could cut the pieces smaller and use this like a chutney (he suggested pork) instead of a side dish. We haven’t done this yet, but I’m sure it would be tasty.

2 Comments »

  1. TeacherPatti said,

    A simple thing that I like to make with kale is kale chips–just lay the kale leaves flat, splash some olive oil on it, top with salt and pepper and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. They have a satisfying crunch and while my brain realizes they are not Better Maid potato chips, my brain still appreciates the CRUNCH!

  2. Tricia said,

    I made kale chips once and was not enthused, but I guess I should try again.


Leave a Reply

