11 December 2009

Bizchochitos

Posted in events, food at 1:07 am by Tricia

bizcochito cookies

bizcochito snowmen - they melt in your mouth, not in the street

I’m going to a cookie exchange tonight, and I’ve prepared the Official State Cookie of New Mexico (really! you can read about them at wikipedia! and see the recipe at wikibooks!). You either gotta love or wonder deeply about a state that takes the time to recognize a state cookie. Then again, Michigan has a state soil. I doubt anybody here has a Christmas tradition of eating Kalkaska sand. But hey, what do I know – I didn’t grow up here!

Anyway, this also happens to be a Christmastime favorite at my house and at my sister’s. My mother got this recipe from Cocinas de Nuevo México, a cookbook she got from the Albuquerque gas or electric company in the late 60s or early 70s. I typically half the recipe (because it makes lots!), so those are the amounts I’ve provided here.

Bizcochitos

Ingredients:

1/2      pound (.25kg) butter/shortening (lard is traditional)
3/4      cups (75g) sugar
2         tsp. (10g) anise seed (crushed)
1         egg, beaten
3         cups (200g) flour
1.5       tsp. (15g) baking powder
1/2       tsp. (5g) salt
1/4       cup (65ml) brandy (I use orange juice)

cinnamon sugar: mix 1/4 cup sugar + 1 tablespoon cinnamon

Instructions:

  1. Cream the shortening, sugar, and anise in a large mixing bowl. Add eggs and beat well.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Alternately add flour and brandy/OJ to creamed mixture until a stiff dough has formed. Let dough set in refrigerator until easy to handle.
  4. When ready to proceed, preheat oven to 350° F (180° C).
  5. Knead dough slightly and pat or roll to a 1/4 to 1/2 inch (.5 to 1cm) thickness.
  6. Cut into desired shapes. (The cookbook we had says “fleur-de-lis is traditional” but triangles were traditional at our house! They’re also much quicker to produce. I like to use simple Christmas cookie cutters, like stars, bells, and trees.)
  7. Dust with (or dip in) cinnamon sugar.
  8. Bake in an oven preheated to 350°F (180°C) for 10 minutes or until golden brown.
12 Comments »

  1. MK said,

    Looks good! See you tonight….

  2. TeacherPatti said,

    OMG! I absolutely cannot wait to try these tonight 🙂

  3. Leila said,

    Mmmmmmmmmmmm… I love bizcochitos, though I seldom bother to make them.

  4. TeacherPatti said,

    These were so awesome! Thanks so much for bringing them and I am SO glad to have gotten to meet you 🙂 Hope to see you again soon!

  5. Tricia said,

    Thanks Patti, it was good meeting you as well.

    Leila, you should make them, they’re easy! And it’s less expensive than driving to NM for Christmas. :^)

  6. teacherpatti said,

    Just ate my last one 😦
    Til next year 🙂

    • Tricia said,

      For some reason, Patti, wordpress marked your comments as Spam and didn’t notify me they were pending. Weird!

      We got a fresh supply of bizcochitos when I visited my parents in NM this past week.

  7. Kate said,

    Wow–we have a state soil! That is so weird it makes me strangely happy.

    • Tricia said,

      Turns out New Mexico has a state soil as well – but it’s unofficial and not as memorable as Kalkaska sand! (According to the USDA, every state has a state soil, but only 20 are legislatively recognized. That’s my new factoid for the day. :^)

  8. vivnidhi said,

    Hey Tricia, I can barely pronounce bizchochitos. Not only were these tasty, the kids & I found them really cute :-). Looking forward to seeing you again soon !

  9. Os invito a ver el nuevo portal para compartir recetas de cocina http://www.cociname.com y que compartais vuestras mejores recetas para que las puedan votar todos los usuarios


Leave a Reply

