21 January 2010

Turkish Carrot Pilaf

Posted in food at 10:05 pm by Tricia

I’ve been trying out new recipes recently – not due to a New Year’s resolution or anything like that (although i have made such resolutions in past years!), just to avoid boredom. The other day I decided to crack open my copy of The Complete Middle East Cookbook by Tess Mallos. This cookbook covers a variety of countires and cuisines, including a section on The Gulf States (e.g. Bahrain, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Qatar, Oman) and Yemen. Have you ever seen a cookbook with Yemeni food before? I haven’t! And if you need a recipe for brains, this is the book for you. I thought I saw one in every chapter, but on looking at the index I only see 6 – but really, do you need more than 6 ways to cook lamb brains? I certainly don’t!

Anyway, this week’s winner recipe was a Turkish carrot pilaf. I wasn’t expecting much when I picked it out, but I knew we had carrots that could be put to good use. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the end result – it’s quite tasty and rather rich! The peppercorns add a surprising punch and contrast with the carrots when they pop in your mouth. A good pilaf has a crunchy crust on the bottom – the center of mine got a bit burned (boo!) but the majority of it came out great. I heated up the leftovers tonight by filming a pan with oil, plopping in the leftover rice, then leaving it over low heat for about 10 minutes – resulting in a new crunchy crust, yum!

Türkistan Pilavi – Turkistan Carrot Pilaf
(The Complete Middle East Cookbook, p 124)
Serves: 5-6
Cooking time: 30 minutes

2 cups long grain rice (I had jasmine rice on hand)
1/4 cup butter
2 cups coarsely grated carrots (about 4 medium) (I used the big holes on a box grater, but the food processor might be faster)
1/2 tsp whole black peppercorns (I used 1 tsp)
1 tsp sugar
3 1/2 cups chicken stock (I used water)
salt

1. Wash rice until water runs clear. Drain well.
2. Heat butter in a heavy pan, add grated carrot and peppercorns and fry over medium heat for 3 minutes, stirring often. Sprinkle in sugar towards end of frying.
3. Add rice and fry for further 2 minutes, stirring constantly.
4. Pour in stock and add salt to taste. Stir until boiling, then reduce heat to low. Cover with lid and cook over low heat for 25-30 minutes. Remove from heat and place a cloth or 2 paper towels under lid and leave covered for 10 minutes before serving.

2 Comments »

  1. Lenny Williams said,

    Just come across your comment about Tess Mallos’s book – I’ve been using it since it first came on the market and I can tell you for sure that there aren’t many failures!! One of the best dishes that all my customers rave about is the Tas Kebap with Hunkar Begendi (Sultan’s Delight) – a bit of effort but well worth it. Have you also got the Complete Asian Cookbook by Charmaine Solomon – I got the two together and they are absolute gems.

    A chef in Thailand

    • Tricia said,

      Thanks for the suggestions, chef in Thailand :^). Those recipes look intriguing – I’ll have to give them a try! And I’ll see if my library has the other cookbook.


Leave a Reply

