11 February 2010

News you can use

Posted in oddities, Z-boy tagged at 10:35 am by Tricia

I’m not sure why I saw this in late January when it was first published in 2005, but here is some news you can use from the BBC:

untidy beds may keep you healthy

Watch out mites! We're leaving our beds unkempt...

Granted, this claim is based on a computer model, and there is a suggestion that the average humidity in a house might mitigate the effects of unkempt bed covers, but I’m sure plenty of people are willing to sign up for the treatment condition in any real-world experiments!

On a related note, the middle child had a friend over a few weeks ago. Friend walked into the boys’ room, looked around, and said: “You’re lucky. My mom makes me clean up my room!” Sigh.

4 Comments »

  1. Tricia said,

    Hmmm, maybe it ended up as a highly viewed story at the BBC site as a result of the lesson plan here: http://www.breakingnewsenglish.com/1001/100126-bed-bugs.html

    although i don’t see any links from that back to the BBC. Hmmm.

  2. TeacherPatti said,

    I’ve never made my bed…my mom always thought it was pointless b/c you were just going to mess it up again. I apply that theory to all sorts of cleaning…I’m just gonna mess it up again!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Tricia said,

    My mom expected us to make our beds – and put our pajamas under the pillow in the process. But despite being trained as a maid (sorry, “housekeeper”) at Yellowstone National Park, I have not maintained this policy in my own house. I probably had an intuition about those mites… :^)

  4. Melissa said,

    Tricia, thanks for commenting on my blog! (The topstitching really makes a difference on those taggies, and we’ll be keeping Sharpies out of reach in the future!) The only time we make our beds is when company is coming. I’ve always felt like it’s pretty pointless. Seriously, I have better things to do than worry about making beds everyday. And many, many other daily tasks which need doing! Glad to know I don’t need to feel guilty about it. πŸ˜‰ Melissa


Leave a Reply

