6 March 2010

Done did fondue

Posted in events, food tagged at 9:39 pm by Tricia

Sometime in the 70s, my family acquired a fondue pot – avocado green, needless to say. One year my family had chocolate fondue – I remember arguing with my sister who wanted to use semi-sweet chocolate, while I thought the only chocolate worth eating was Hershey’s milk chocolate. She won. My current self looks back on that incident with shame – although I will admit that once I realized chocolate chips were semi-sweet, I was sold on the idea. But our typical fondue meal (which wasn’t very often – maybe once a year?) was  swiss cheese with wine. Jonski Papa’s family had meat fondues – expensive cuts of meat, sliced very thin, cooked in oil and dipped in various tasty sauces. They never had cheese, we never had meat, so the first time we had fondue together (in Brazil, one Thanksgiving in the mid 90s) we ordered both.

avocado green Fondue Pot and Cookbook

Straight from the 70s - avocado green fondue gear

At some time in the past 20 years, I acquired the fondue pot from my parents. It came in handy on Saturday night when I went to a MLFB fondue party, hosted by Victoria who blogs at eclecticgrub. I didn’t have my camera so have no photos of the event, but others did and they may show up at their blogs eventually. Wanting to branch out from my childhood experience, I made a cider fondue.

Cider Fondue

2 to 3 Tab butter
2 lbs grated cheese (I cubed it, small cubes)
2 cups dry cider
1 tsp corn flour
1 tsp dry mustard
Salt and pepper to taste

Blend the corn flour and mustard with 1/2 cup cider. Melt butter in a saucepan. Add the cheese and remaining cider. Stir constantly over low heat until mixture is melted and smooth. Add corn flour mixture and seasonings. Blend well. Pour into fondue pot and serve.

I took chunks of (fresh, homemade) bread and chunks of apple to dip. Some of the veggies and cooked meats also ended up in there! I wasn’t quite sure what dry cider meant, but rather than look it up I decided to use our favorite non-alcoholic cider. I used a mix of cheeses: a sharp white Wisconsin cheddar and a bit of mild (yellow) Wisconsin cheddar (both from Busch’s), and 3 white cheddars from Trader Joe’s: New Zealand sharp, Dubliner, and something I’m forgetting.

We also had a beef broth (Victoria) and oil (Jeanette) for cooking meats and veggies, as well as a pizza fondue (made by Patti) that was amazingly flavoricious and chunky. Even after all that, we weren’t done – for dessert, Amy (who did not run with her spatula while there) brought a slightly spicy chocolate fondue along with a pound cake, fruit, and many crunchy treats. We did our best to finish it, but she had lots left over, so I got to bring some home (score!).

My boys have only ever had chocolate fondue (via fountains), so I guess we need to introduce them to this interactive dining experience. I’m thinking the cider fondue will be a good one to start with – they like cheddar, and it has no strange alcoholic overtones to set off their taste buds.

4 Comments »

  1. teacherpatti said,

    It was delicious–and great to see you 🙂

  2. Tracy said,

    Is that a current photo, or a 1970s era photo?

    My mom had a reddish/orangish fondue pot. We only ever had cheese fondue, usually once a year, around the holidays (but not ON a holiday). We would have meat and bread cubes to dip, and I remember dipping only the bread cubes. I probably would not have liked chocolate fondue back then, seeing how I didn’t like chocolate until after I had a baby!

  3. Tricia said,

    Thanks, Patti – great to see you, too! And thanks for the ride. :^)

    Tracy, it’s a current photo, taken on the chest freezer in my 60s era wood paneled basement (one of the few places I can find a small spot with an uncluttered background :^). Patti (who commented before you) mentioned that we needed a burnt orange fondue pot to complete the 70s era color trifecta – your mom’s would have fit right in!

  4. Tricia said,

    Well this is weird – I posted this entry after the turnips one was scheduled to post, but it shows up with an earlier date. Clearly I need to figure out what is going on behind the scenes with that WordPress iPod app.


Leave a Reply

