7 June 2010

New Season, New CSA

Posted in food at 1:55 am by Tricia

After many years with my previous CSA, I decided to support a new farm this year. We joined Capella Farm, which is in their second year as a CSA. Instead of picking up at the Farmer’s Market, we’ll be picking up at the farm. The boys went with me this week, and had a good time. The youngest picked and ate a few edible marigolds, while the middle one ate a couple of radishes which were pulled and washed especially for him. We all enjoyed feeding dry crusty bread ends to the chickens, but we didn’t get out to see the goats. Maybe next time!

Early season always runs towards leafy greens, and I’ve been making good use of them already. The first night, I used this recipe to cook collards, beet greens, and a bit of the mustard greens. (I subbed dried cherries for the raisins, and some orange juice for the orange sections.) Friday night I made our favorite Spanish-style chickpeas with spinach, using a combo of the spinach, the rest of the mustard greens, and some arugula. Saturday night I made a new-to-me recipe with the chard (see below). The lettuce and the rest of the arugula will go in a salad.

If you want to spy on my produce each week, you can follow along at their “What’s in the Box?” blog. :^)

Young Swiss Chard with Sesame Seeds

1.5 lb young Swiss chard, well washed but left whole
2 Tab soy sauce
2 tsp sugar
2 Tab oriental sesame oil
2 Tab roasted and very lightly ground sesame seeds
1.5 Tab Chinese shao hsing wine or dry sherry (I used rice wine vinegar)

Bring a large pot of water tp a rolling boil. Drop in the chard and bring back to a boil. Cover partially and boil rapidly fit 3 to 4 minutes, or until the stems are just tender. Drain and rinse under cold water. Squeeze out as much water as possible and put the chard in a bowl. Separate the leaves, which will be like strands now.

Combine the soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil, sesame seeds, and wine. Mix well. Pour the dressing over the chard and toss to mix. Serve at room temp or chilled. Serves 4.

She defines young chard as leaves and stalk no more than 10 inches. Mine was a bit longer (teenager chard, perhaps?), so I cut the stems into small pieces and chopped the leaves into wide strips.

I only had a half pound of chard, so I halved the dressing recipe rather than divide by 1/3 (lazy math!). There was excess dressing, so I used it as a base for a teriyaki sauce that I made to go with chicken and rice. Very delicious and fairly simple.

2 Comments »

  1. Leila said,

    My goal is to find a CSA that doesn’t plant leafy greens. Heh.

    Seriously, sounds good. I’ll have to try that recipe, and I’ll be checking on your box and hope to see what you’re making with it over the next while!

  2. Tricia said,

    And I’d be happiest to find a CSA that doesn’t plant beets! Although the beet greens were fine. And the teeny tiny baby beets were unnoticeable in the mix (maybe 3 total?). But otherwise, beets have been my least favorite part of the CSA experience. I keep meaning to make an acid/base indicator from some – maybe this will be the year!


Leave a Reply

