15 June 2010

A sad waste of greens

Posted in CSA, food tagged at 7:51 pm by Tricia

If you come across a recipe that calls for 1 teaspoon of curry powder to season 2 pounds of mustard greens and a can of tomatoes, don’t bother making it. It’s boring and bland. Even with 1 tab fresh ginger. I suppose you could try increasing the seasoning, but if that doesn’t work out, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

And on top of this recipe fail (where I used up all my mustard greens AND my chard), I’m beginning to think my husband has a bitterness detector that I’m missing. He often claims that a greens dish is too bitter when I can’t taste any such element. Or maybe I’m fine but he’s like those people who think cilantro tastes like soap, and he’s missing subtle aromas and top notes and complexities…

5 Comments »

  1. Cindy said,

    I have a hard time with bitter greens as well. However, I love, love, love cilantro and even after hearing that NPR piece I still can’t detect a soapy taste even when looking for it. It was a real eye opener though that some people could loathe cilantro!

  2. Tricia said,

    Cindy, take comfort: you can’t taste the soap because you have a well-developed sense of smell! Maybe I need you to come over and eat greens with us – you could be the deciding vote between “bitter or not bitter?” :^)

  3. Leila said,

    Cilantro tastes like Tide. I’d rather eat Tide.

    There is definitely a personal difference in bitterness detection, I think.

  4. The Mrs.... said,

    I recently read an article that talked about “super tasters”… they usually like a lot of salt and bitter tastes are amplified. I came to the conclusion that I’m one of those. I love love love salty foods, bitter tastes are pretty bad to me and I really can’t stand cilantro.

    • Tricia said,

      Have you heard the song (Super Taster) by They Might Be Giants? Kind of funny.

      We joke that our eldest son is a super taster, although we haven’t done the easy home test to confirm (something to do with staining then counting taste buds). But my husband – who is the one who objects to more greens that I do – is definitely NOT a super taster. He must have something else going on!

      Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

