7 July 2010

Cheery Cherry Galette

Posted in food at 10:45 am by Tricia

galette crust

see the red flecks? bloody butcher! bloody butcher! (cornmeal)

Combining elements of peach galette and fruit purses, I came up with a cherry galette recipe. Consider it an easier form of cherry pie, if you wish – just know that it will be yummy (if you like cherry desserts, that is)! And the second best thing about this? It’s great for breakfast, too – think of it as a homemade pop-tart! Or toast with lots and lots of jam… :^)

cherry galette ready to bake

assembled and ready to bake

Cheery Cherry Galette

Filling:

1 quart tart cherries (almost 4 cups pitted)
2-4 Tab sugar (depending on your tastes)
2 Tab cornstarch
1 Tab balsamic vinegar

Pit the cherries. Combine the fruit, sugar, balsamic vinegar, and cornstarch in the saucepan. Cook on low heat, stirring often, until the mixture thickens, about 5 minutes. Remove from the heat.

Dough:

1 ¼ c flour
¼ c cornmeal (I use (red) bloody butcher cornmeal from Jennings Brothers)
½ tsp salt
3 Tab sugar
8 Tab unsalted butter, chilled and sliced (original calls for 10)
4-5 Tab ice water

Mix the flour, cornmeal, salt, sugar and butter together—I use a pastry cutter to work the butter in with all of the dry ingredients. And then add the water, one tablespoon at a time, until the dough comes together – for this, I use my hands. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for at least an hour. (I don’t always bother with the chilling step.)

Preheat the oven to 400F. When ready, roll out the dough into a large circle. Place it on a piece of wax or parchment paper, on a cookie sheet or pizza pan. Next, put the filling in the middle of the dough-circle. Carefully fold the overhanging sides of dough up over the edges of the fruit. Bake (making sure to place tin foil or another pan underneath to catch the liquid overflow) for 30 minutes, until golden brown and bubbling.

baked cherry galette

oozy cherry goodness, ready to eat!

Notes: The last two times I’ve made this, I’ve had some filling left over. Especially if the filling doesn’t thicken, it can be hard to pile it up high (in contrast to the peach/blueberry galette that inspired this). I put the leftovers in the fridge and will use them for some other dessert.

Also, I haven’t obeyed the additional pan underneath while baking bit – the wax / parchment paper seems to capture any drips. Either that or the high edges on my pizza pan. And as mentioned in the recipe, I don’t always bother to chill the dough (I don’t always plan that far in advance!). Maybe chilled dough is less likely to rip? Or is that related to thickness? The second galette I made (not pictured) did not rip and the filling did not ooze out.

I have a cherry pitter, but the insert that makes it work well is missing. I have now perfected the art of using a chopstick to pit them, in part because my youngest child wanted his cherries that way a few weeks ago. I think the pitter might be faster, but this works. Just don’t make the mistake of using a wooden skewer, like I did a year or two ago – you really need the extra width of the chopstick to push out the pits.

2 Comments »

  1. Leila said,

    Mmmm… that looks awesome! Must try, especially since I love galettes and cornmeal crusts!

    • Tricia said,

      Do give it a try! Although I noticed when I looked at the peach & blueberry galette that she just barely folded over her crust (compared to mine) – but I suppose if you’re already a galette pro, you know what to do there…


Leave a Reply

