30 November 2010

Life’s a Twinkling

Posted in food at 4:15 pm by Tricia

 

The Gathering of Spirits
(c) Carrie Newcomer 2000

Chorus: Let it go my love my truest,
Let it sail on silver wings
Life’s a twinkling that’s for certain,
But it’s such a fine thing
There’s a gathering of spirits
There’s a festival of friends
And we’ll take up where we left off
When we all meet again.

Verse: I can’t explain it.
I couldn’t if I tried
How the only things we carry
Are the things we hold inside
Like a day in the open,
Like the love we won’t forget
Like the laughter that we started
And hasn’t died down yet

Chorus

Verse: Oh yah, now didn’t we
And don’t we make it shine
Aren’t we standing in the center of
Something rare and fine
Some glow like embers
Or light through colored glass
Some give it all in one great flame
Throwing kisses as they pass

Chorus

Verse: Just east of Eden
But there’s heaven in our midst
And we’re never really all that far
From those we love and miss
Wade out in the water
There’s a glory all around
The wisest say there’s a 1000 ways
To kneel and kiss the ground

Chorus: Let it go my love my truest,
Let it sail on silver wings
Life’s a twinkling that’s for certain,
But it’s such a fine thing
There’s a gathering of spirits
There’s a festival of friends
And we’ll take up where we left off
When we all meet again.
And we’ll take up where we left off
When we all meet again.

A good friend of mine died yesterday, after multiple battles with cancer. She was definitely “light through colored glass.”

Michele, I don’t know what you believed about an afterlife, but I hope we all meet again and get to take up where we left off.

7 Comments »

  1. Ruth said,

    I’m so sorry, Tricia.

    • Tricia said,

      Thanks, Ruth. She’s one of my friends from my September moms list, so she is leaving a 13yo daughter (and her husband ). My heart aches for them both.

  2. Cindy F. said,

    Amen. This is beautiful Tricia.

    • Tricia said,

      Thanks, Cindy. My Carrie Newcomer collection has been the soundtrack of my life the past couple days… She tends to be pretty mellow, but there’s enough cheerful music in there to keep me out of a total funk!

  3. Tracy said,

    Thanks for a heartfelt post. It’s just not right without her.

  4. Cynthia said,

    Cancer sucks….sorry to hear about your friend, but glad
    to find Carrie Newcomer thanks to you.

    • Tricia said,

      Thanks, MK. Carrie Newcomer is my favorite these days, even when I’m not feeling melancholy.


Leave a Reply

