29 December 2010

700 Bags

Posted in food at 9:00 pm by Tricia

trader joe's grocery sacks
We were reusing grocery bags long before it was cool, ’cause I’m cheap (thrifty!) like that. One (or more?) of my grocery stores offer a credit of 5 cents per bag when you provide your own (providing you don’t go through the self-checkout, you’re out of luck if you do that). At the local Trader Joe’s, you get entered into a drawing for a $35 store credit. They draw 2 names per week, for a total of 8 winners per month. Most times when I hand over my entry, I say something along the lines of “I’m bound to win some day.” And this month, I finally did! As any proficient 2nd grade mathematician could calculate for you, that’s the equivalent of 700 bags reused. I doubt I’ve bought 700 bags of groceries at the store since it opened, so I figure I’m currently ahead of the game. Here’s to 700 more! Because surely somebody has to win twice, right??

4 Comments »

  1. Leila said,

    Congrats! Enjoy your store credit… Anything special you’re planning on trying?

  2. Tricia said,

    Ack, I never responded. To answer your question: no, I didn’t really try anything special. I joked that I would buy $35 worth of chocolate stars (those chocolate covered shortbread cookies I’m kind of addicted to), but being seasonal, they were out. I did buy one new product, but now I can’t even remember what it was. My check-out guy was sufficiently congratulatory and impressed as well – I was the first winner he’d ever served, so we had a short conversation about how often I shop there and stuff like that.

  3. Tracy said,

    Hey, congrats! I always fill those out, too. It’s nice to know they actually do select a winner (sometimes I wonder, since I never win).

    We have also been reusing bags forEVER. Even in high school (early 1980s) I used the same brown lunch bag over and over until it fell apart, then I’d start with a new one. Classmates laughed at me for reuisng lunch bags (I think teenagers will pick on just about anything), but I perservered.

    We started reusing grocery bags in the early 1990s, and bought our first set of canvas ones in 1992. I remember the discussion with the husband. He didn’t want to shell out the cash for them (I think they were $3 or $4 each) since we could reuse the paper sacks for FREE, but I pointed out that with a 5 cent rebate with every use, eventually they’d pay for themselves. We are using those same bags 19 years later!!!

    • Tricia said,

      Wow, 1992? You have me beat, for sure! We had been reusing paper bags for a long time, but I don’t think I started using the canvas/tyvek ones until the last 5 years or so.


Leave a Reply

