16 September 2016

Darya Lin, in memory

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:31 pm by Tricia

A few weeks ago I noticed this plaque on a bench at Olson Park in Ann Arbor. I had vague memories of at least 1 person with an Ann Arbor connection who died in the World Trade Center attacks, so I took a picture to prompt me to look it up, but forgot when back at home.

darya-lin-plaque

This week I saw a flower next to the bench. I moved it to the top so it would be more prominent, so others would also notice.

darya-lin-flowers

Today I looked her up. Darya Lin grew up in Iran to a Persian mother and Burmese father and moved to Ann Arbor when she was 11. She was 32 years old when she died in the World Trade Center. Darya was a senior manager with Keane Consulting Group; she stayed on the 78th floor to help a pregnant client while others in her group ran downstairs to safety. God bless your spirit indeed, Darya Lin.

(Her father was a physicist at UMich; prototype 9/11 memorial sculptures by Jens Zorn mention Darya and her father here.)

 

 

5 Comments »

  1. Angie McGill said,

    Darya Lin was a sweet and caring person. She worked at the UCSD Medical Center before moving to New York and left her personal imprint on everyone’s heart when she left. Rest In Peace my friend!

    • Tricia said,

      Thank you for sharing your memories of Darya.

  2. stacie said,

    I worked with Darya at Prudential. We spent a lot of time in Newark, but I am based in Minneapolis, so she spent a lot of time in Minnesota. She was hard working, professional, and so young. I can only imagine the devastation by her family. She was such an amazing person that was taken away way too soon. On this anniversary of 9/11 I want to say God Bless to all of Darya’s family, friends, and colleagues.

    • Tricia said,

      Thank you for sharing your memories of Darya.

  3. katiebrick said,

    Glad there’s a plaque. I’ll ask my niece – new U of M student – to visit. Thanks for writing this. I was thinking of Darya, googled, and it popped.

    I worked with Darya at the Chicago firm she was working with when she died in NYC. Though I had left the company by then, I saw her and her colleague who died a few weeks before 9/11. Went to her gorgeous memorial service.

    She was quirky funny, sharp and smart, kind and thoughtful – though she kept you on your toes. Her hospitality was amazing. I kept the orange plastic CB2 martini glasses she got me for my going away party for years. She gave gifts to people. She was a gift.
    I was told she died helping others. I am not surprised. Gone too soon. Thanks again.


Leave a comment